MC51M0a_Martial.png
 
 

Welcome to the Martial Arts Way of Life Blog...

At Progressive Martial Arts Academy we believe in a holistic approach to teaching and training martial arts.

One of the martial arts at the core of our academy is the art of Kenpo. We trace our lineage back to James Mitose, and the Kosho Kenpo system. The Kosho family crest includes an octagon that represented the eight aspects of their Kenpo system. We have modified these slightly to fit modern times, but these will be the topics covered in this blog:

  1. Health/Fitness
  2. Meditation
  3. Philosophy/Mindset
  4. Yoga/Stretching
  5. Nutrition and Health
  6. The Stand Up Arts
  7. The Grappling Arts
  8. Self Defense

Below you will find all of our blog entries in chronological order in case you are a new reader here and want to catch up on previous posts! We've placed a star next to some of our most popular posts too.

Come back each Wednesday for a new blog post, or follow us on Facebook or Twitter to see when new blogs are posted too!

August 2016

How to Choose the Martial Art For You - http://www.pmaoakridge.com/blog/choose

5 Steps to Handling a Bully - http://www.pmaoakridge.com/blog/bullying

The Art of Fighting without Fighting - http://www.pmaoakridge.com/blog/fighting

Most Common Mistakes - Incorrect Fundamental Technique - http://www.pmaoakridge.com/blog/2016/8/21/most-common-mistakes-incorrect-fundamental-technique

Home Dojo - http://www.pmaoakridge.com/blog/home

* I am a woman. I am empowered. - http://www.pmaoakridge.com/blog/empowered

September 2016

Martial Artist or Student of the Martial Arts? - http://www.pmaoakridge.com/blog/artist

* Madelyn Fowler: Why I Train Martial Arts - http://www.pmaoakridge.com/blog/madelyn

It's What You Do That Defines You - http://www.pmaoakridge.com/blog/2016/9/14/its-what-you-do-that-defines-you

Let’s Start with Choices - http://www.pmaoakridge.com/blog/choices

Remember the Environment! - http://www.pmaoakridge.com/blog/environment

October 2016

Plateaus - http://www.pmaoakridge.com/blog/plateaus

6 Tips to Block Stress from Your Life - http://www.pmaoakridge.com/blog/stress

* The Perfect Fighter - http://www.pmaoakridge.com/blog/perfect

So Awkward - http://www.pmaoakridge.com/blog/2016/10/19/so-awkward

How Many Calories Does Martial Arts Training Burn? - http://www.pmaoakridge.com/blog/2016/11/2/how-many-calories-does-martial-arts-training-burn

November 2016

Goals: When to Use Them and When to Lose Them - http://www.pmaoakridge.com/blog/goals

Why I Train Martial Arts - http://www.pmaoakridge.com/blog/david

The Real Octagon - http://www.pmaoakridge.com/blog/2016/11/16/the-real-octagon

Fitting Down the Chimney Is Overrated Anyway - http://www.pmaoakridge.com/blog/holidays

* Gracie Hall: Why I Train Martial Arts - http://www.pmaoakridge.com/blog/gracie

December 2016

What Style Do You Teach? - http://www.pmaoakridge.com/blog/karate

* Women Should Train Martial Arts - http://www.pmaoakridge.com/blog/2016/12/14/women-should-train-martial-arts

Look Up - http://www.pmaoakridge.com/blog/lookup

Purpose - http://www.pmaoakridge.com/blog/purpose

January 2017

Life is Life - http://www.pmaoakridge.com/blog/life

The Most Effective Way to Learn Jiu Jitsu - http://www.pmaoakridge.com/blog/learnbjj

Bottoms Up - http://www.pmaoakridge.com/blog/water

The Importance of the Black Belt - http://www.pmaoakridge.com/blog/blackbelt

February 2017

The Black Belt Problem - http://www.pmaoakridge.com/blog/theblackbeltproblem

Meet the Candidates - http://www.pmaoakridge.com/blog/2017/2/8/meet-the-candidates

Confidence vs. Overconfidence - http://www.pmaoakridge.com/blog/confidence

Bunkai and Me - http://www.pmaoakridge.com/blog/2017/2/22/bunkai-and-me

March 2017

Zen and the Martial Arts Way of Life - http://www.pmaoakridge.com/blog/2017/3/1/zen-and-the-martial-arts-way-of-life

Self Perfection: The Key to Enjoying the Journey - http://www.pmaoakridge.com/blog/self-perfection

* 3 Things to Avoid Saying to Your Training Partner - http://www.pmaoakridge.com/blog/3-things-to-avoid-saying

Using the “10,000-Hour Rule” and the “20-Hour Rule" to Your Advantage - http://www.pmaoakridge.com/blog/hours

Who Should Train Martial Arts? - http://www.pmaoakridge.com/blog/who

April 2017

Size Definitely Matters - http://www.pmaoakridge.com/blog/size

* Is Jiu Jitsu Dead? - http://www.pmaoakridge.com/blog/2017/4/12/is-jiu-jitsu-dead

You Are Normal - http://www.pmaoakridge.com/blog/normal

If at first you don't succeed, try again. And again. And again. - http://www.pmaoakridge.com/blog/2017/4/26/if-at-first-you-dont-succeed-try-again-and-again-and-again

May 2017

Maximize Your Repetitions - 5 Tips to Get the Most Out of Every Training Session - http://www.pmaoakridge.com/blog/2017/5/3/maximize-your-repetitions-5-tips-to-get-the-most-out-of-every-training-session

* The Importance of Martial Arts Training for Children - http://www.pmaoakridge.com/blog/2017/5/10/the-importance-of-martial-arts-training-for-children

The 5 School Principles - http://www.pmaoakridge.com/blog/5schoolprinciples

Loyalty and the Martial Arts - http://www.pmaoakridge.com/blog/loyalty

June 2017

My Trip to Rio - http://www.pmaoakridge.com/blog/rio

Mindfulness & No-Mindedness (Mushin) - http://www.pmaoakridge.com/blog/mindfulness

Becoming a Martial Artist - http://www.pmaoakridge.com/blog/2017/6/14/becoming-a-martial-artist

Train Strong to Remain Strong - http://www.pmaoakridge.com/blog/train-strong

* Evolve to Remain Strong - http://www.pmaoakridge.com/blog/evolve

July 2017

Ranks and Titles, Part 1 - http://www.pmaoakridge.com/blog/ranks

Ranks and Titles, Part 2 - http://www.pmaoakridge.com/blog/titles

* Demian Maia vs. Tyron Woodley - What the Commentators Left Out and Why the UFC Doesn’t Deserve Him - http://www.pmaoakridge.com/blog/ufc214

August 2017

* 3 Reasons Martial Arts Training is the Perfect Fitness Alternative -  http://www.pmaoakridge.com/blog/fitnessalternative

How Brittany Lost 38 Pounds and 8% Body Fat This Year - http://www.pmaoakridge.com/blog/2017/8/16/how-brittany-lost-38-pounds-and-8-body-fat-this-year

Leave Your Ego at the Door - http://www.pmaoakridge.com/blog/ego

5 Paradigms Adults Believe About Martial Arts - http://www.pmaoakridge.com/blog/paradigms

September 2017

* Should We Teach Children How to Fight? - http://www.pmaoakridge.com/blog/2017/9/6/should-we-teach-children-how-to-fight

5 Reasons Martial Arts Training Is The Best Activity for Your Brain and Memory! - http://www.pmaoakridge.com/blog/mind

Let Me Tell You About My Greatest Enemy! - http://www.pmaoakridge.com/blog/age

The Underlying Reason We Never Change - http://www.pmaoakridge.com/blog/ambivalence

October 2017

4 Types of Meditation/Visualization for Martial Artists - http://www.pmaoakridge.com/blog/2017/10/4/4-types-of-meditationvisualization-for-martial-artists

5 Key Health Benefits to Martial Arts Training - http://www.pmaoakridge.com/blog/health

Does Size Matter in Martial Arts? - http://www.pmaoakridge.com/blog/does-size-matter

Martial arts and combat sports. Which is better? - 

http://www.pmaoakridge.com/blog/sport

November 2017

Tournament Breakdown (Videos) - http://www.pmaoakridge.com/blog/tournament-breakdown

The Benefits We Can't Measure As Easily - http://www.pmaoakridge.com/blog/benefits2

The Dynamics of Our Kenpo - http://www.pmaoakridge.com/blog/dynamics

December 2017

Grafting - http://www.pmaoakridge.com/blog/2017/12/6/grafting